RM Logo
Technical Rating: 
Support Home PageSupport
Print This PagePrint This Page
Add to 'My Library' Add to 'My Library'

Grace period functionality in Glow
Published Date : 10 Apr 2017   Last Updated : 01 May 2018   Content Ref: TEC5640846  





Procedure

What is grace period for Glow users?
Most Glow users are created automatically based on a data feed from SEEMiS. When the end date for a student or staff record passes in SEEMiS, the corresponding user is deleted from Glow.

Grace period provides a way for the users to be given extra time to access Glow, even though their account would normally have been deleted. Examples of when it may be useful to apply a grace period to a user would be:

  • Summer holidays when it might be useful for P7-S1 transitions.
  • Students leaving at the end of S6 but might still need access to their email for FE/HE communications.
  • Teachers moving between schools and are not in SEEMiS during the intervening period.

Although most applications are over the summer period, it can be given to any SEEMiS sourced user at any point in the year.

As the lifetime of CSV and manually created users are in the control of Glow admin users, a grace period cannot be given to these user types.

What types of grace period are available?
The grace period functionality provides two approaches to assigning a grace period:

  1. Proactive grace period. This can be assigning to users before they are deleted from Glow following the ending of the record in SEEMiS. For example, you know that a teacher is moving to another school and will be without access over the summer - assign them a proactive grace period and they will get continued access even after their end date in SEEMiS.
  2. Reactive grace period. This can be assigning to users after they have been deleted in Glow following the ending of the record in SEEMiS. For example, an ex-student or member of staff contacts you because their account has been deleted - you can temporarily restore the account.

Who can be given grace period?
Any user generated by SEEMiS can proactively be given grace period to come into effect when their end date passes in SEEMiS.

Any user generated by SEEMiS can be given a reactive grace period within 90 days of the user being deleted.

Users are also only allowed one consecutive grace period - this prevents a user being kept alive indefinitely through assigning multiple grace periods. If a SEEMiS update re-activates the user, this counter is reset.

How does proactive grace period work?
Proactive grace period is given to users who you know in advance will be needing access to Glow after the account has been deleted. The user will receive 60 days of access after the delete has been received from SEEMiS.

This can be allocated in the following way:

  1. Navigate to the RM Unify Management Console.
  2. Select the appropriate user view (students, teaching staff, etc.).
  3. Find the user you want to assign a grace period and select Actions
  4. Select the Assign grace period option from the drop-down list.
  5. Click OK.

It is also possible to bulk allocate grace period by:

  1. Selecting each of the users you want to assign grace period.
  2. Select Actions from along the top of the page.
  3. Select 'Assign grace period'.

If you select any users that are not eligible for a grace period, they will be named at the top of the page along with the total number of successful assignments.

The users will remain in the User lists in the Management Console but will be flagged in the system. This flag is not visible to admins or the user that has been assigned the grace period. However, repeated assignment of the proactive grace period to the same users will not cause any issues, as the grace period will only be active when the user is deleted.

How does reactive grace period work?
Reactive grace period is given to users where the account is already deleted in RM Unify. The 60 day period will start as soon as the grace period is allocated.

This can be allocated in the following way:

  1. Navigate to the RM Unify Management Console.
  2. Select the 'deleted users' view from the Users list.
  3. Find the user you want to assign grace period and select Actions.
  4. Select the 'Restore user' option from the drop-down list.
  5. Click OK.

It is also possible to bulk allocate grace period by:

  1. Selecting each of the users you want to assign grace period.
  2. Select Actions from along the top of the page.
  3. Select 'Restore users'.

If you select any users that cannot be restored, they will be named at the top of the page along with the total number of successful assignments.

Can I see who has a grace period?
Users with an active grace period have an additional line in the user details.

Account expiry date: DD-MM-YYYY

We do not currently show any additional details for users who are pending a proactive grace period.



FEEDBACK
Did the information in this article help answer your question?
 Yes
 No
Please add any comments about this article in the box below. If you answered No then it is important you tell us why so that we can change the article if required. We can only respond if you log in to the RM Support website or provide your contact details. Note: If you need help with a technical query, please log a call online or telephone our support team.
Thank you for your feedback, which is sent directly to the RM Knowledge team. We address every message received with the intention of improving our Knowledge Library articles. If you have an unresolved technical issue, please contact RM Support.


If this article has not helped provide a solution then it is also possible to log a call...



Document Keywords: glow, grace period


Please read - important disclaimer information.
http://www.rm.com/_RMVirtual/Includes/csredirect.asp?cref=&title=Standard Content Disclaimer


Top Of PageTop of page