|Technical Rating: |
|Published Date : 13 Jul 2017
Last Updated : 12 Apr 2019
Content Ref: TEC5786546
RM Unify MIS Group Sync is an aid for schools, provided free of charge as part of the RM Unify Premium subscription and is intended to take away some of the pain of having to create and maintain hundreds of groups and classes and their membership in your school's Microsoft® Office 365™ or G Suite™ domain.
Any improvement suggestions for RM Unify MIS Group Sync can be made via the 'Ideas' link in the RM Unify Help page, found on the top taskbar (the ? icon) when logged on to RM Unify.
Important note: RM Unify never deletes groups from Office 365 or G Suite™ unless an RM Unify user with admin rights explicitly chooses to delete the group from the RM Unify Management Console.
|What will happen to my Office 365 groups after end of year rollover?
- The same group stays active in Office 365. Therefore last year's content (OneDrive, Calendar, conversations) are still available.
- Old students are removed as members.
- New students are added as members.
- There is no change in group owner(s), as RM Unify does not receive records of any teachers for the year group.
If the same registration group code is used for the new academic year:
If new registration group codes are used for the new academic year:
A new group is created.
New students are added as members.
The old group is not deleted, but student memberships are removed. Teachers are only removed as owners of the group if they have left the MIS, otherwise they remain able to access the content.
- Each year, new teaching groups are created that are separate to those in use the previous year. This is because the MIS assigns a new ID to each class, every academic year.
- A new group is created with the new students added as members and registered teaching staff added as owners.
- Any equivalent group for the previous academic year is not deleted, but student memberships are removed. Teachers are only removed as owners of the group if they have left the MIS, otherwise they remain able to access.
|What will happen to my Google Classroom classes at end of year rollover?
||As per Office 365 groups.
||As per Office 365 groups.
As per Office 365 groups except:
Any equivalent class for the previous academic year is not deleted, but student and teacher memberships are removed.
|What if you want to clear down last year's content from the group\class and start afresh this year?
You can delete the group for the previous academic year from the RM Unify Management Console:
- Delete Office 365 group/Google Class.
- Create Office 365 group/Google Class.
The content from the old group/class will not be recoverable.
|As per year groups.
||Not applicable - it creates a new group/class every academic year. |
If this article has not helped provide a solution then it is also possible to
log a call...
Document Keywords: google, o365, group sync, missync, mis-sync, EOY, year end, classes, class, classroom, gsuite, g suite, g-suite